We Are Fighting A Real Enemy

October 14, 2010

Good morning.

I sit here at the PC I use at the ministry where I serve overnight not sure what to do except pray.

Please forgive me if what follows is a bit scatter brained. I know that in these Last Days we know that persecution of Christians is going to come from all sides…including those in your own family. If you are a Christian you ARE called to be a minister. You are a minister to everyone around you. And because of that, you WILL be hated. The Lord calls each of us to our own specific calling. Trust me, when you carry out that specific calling and the more effective God causes it to be, the more you are going experience great trials…and hatred by those who belong to the evil one.

When Jesus sent out the twelve to witness to “The lost sheep of Israel” here of some of the things He said: “Be on your guard against men; they will hand you over to the local councils and flog you in their synagogues. On my account you will be brought before governors and kings as witnesses to them and to the Gentiles. But when they arrest you, do not worry about what to say or how to say it. At that time you will be given what to say, for it will not be you speaking, but the Spirit of your Father speaking through you. “Brother will betray brother to death, and a father his child; children will rebel against their parents and have them put to death. All men will hate you because of me, but he who stands firm to the end will be saved. When you are persecuted in one place, flee to another. I tell you the truth, you will not finish going through the cities of Israel before the Son of Man comes.” Matthew 10:17-23

As a young Christian in my early 20’s I often wondered what that kind of experience would have been like. Today, all you have to do is turn on the news or search headlines on the internet and you can get a quick idea. If those words weren’t strong enough to get the attention of the 12, He also told them, “Do not suppose that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword. For I have come to turn “a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law – a man’s enemies will be the members of his own household.” Anyone who loves his father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves his son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me; and anyone who does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.” Matthew 10:34-39

When He says, “For I have come to turn “a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law – a man’s enemies will be the members of his own household”, He is quoting Micah 7:6 which speaks of the Messiah’s return. The rest of the passage is quite hard as well because He is forewarning His followers that to TRULY follow Him there can be NO ONE that you put before Him…NO ONE. Not your Mother, Father, Husband, Wife, Son or Daughter. NOTHING can take the place of Christ if we are to be truly obedient to His calling.

In being obedient, He is sharing with us the cost of true discipleship. His mission here while on earth obviously was filled with tension…always. It also included persecution and death. The Gospel divides families as He was showing by quoting Micah 7:6. The world will experience true peace ONLY when He returns triumphantly as King of Kings and Lord of Lords to rule once and for all.

In the mean time? Get your house in order and do so quickly. I am an eyewitness to just how fast things can turn and how subtly yet in the open Satan flaunts his spiritual victories. As his days are counting down to the end of his being able to persecute true Christians, our Adversary is going to bring HATE with so much intensity that many will be caught off guard and completely blind-sided so hard they may not recover.

While getting your house in order be ready for the attacks because having said house in order is one of the last things Satan and his emissaries will allow you to do if they have anything to do with it and trust me again here, they do have plenty to do with it.

Why do I say that? Because we are at war. Ever since you denounced the kingdom of darkness and the old man, i.e. your flesh, you no longer were under his jurisdiction so-to-speak. Hence the reason we have Paul’s words about our spiritual armor in Ephesians 6. This war is increasing. I read and hear about it every night and see it every day. Things are happening now that have never happened before as far as our enemy having all the pieces put together to make his move on the world to set up his man…the Antichrist.

Part of the trials and testing that we WILL go through and many already are is the unsettling fact of families being torn apart because of the influence of the world and the demonic hordes that daily assail our senses.

Pray.

Pray.

PRAY.

Things are getting uglier and uglier. The phone calls I take at night hearing from people who are hurting because the enemy of our souls have attacked their families to the point of them wanting to give up instead of standing firm because of how tough it is has caused great consternation within my own soul.

On this BLOG I have already shared with you much of the trials my own family is experiencing and I will tell you that Wednesday night…last night, I found out how close the enemy is camped inside my own home. I cannot go into detail but we were hit hard and as I write this, I do not know what the future holds…but I know Who is holding me. Satan has been out for my family since I took this position serving the Lord and his attacks are so much more aggressive now that we need your prayers for great wisdom before anything truly bad happens.

All our families are under attack. There is nothing special about mine…except they are mine and I love them so much I would die for them in an instant. I know the next few days are going to reveal who we really are in Christ and who we aren’t. And in the mean time, the hounds of hell will be stirring the pot in an effort to make us confused, confounded and upset with one another.

As I started out this by saying I am not sure what to do but pray, I end the same way. I have expressed my heart because it is hurting for my family and all the other families out there going under intense persecution from the enemy. Thankfully, we know who wins in the end.

Stand firm until the end.

Come quickly Lord Jesus.

In Christ,

3 Responses to “We Are Fighting A Real Enemy”

  1. Marion5522 said

    Oh Jeff,this is one of the most personal messages I have ever received. You state you are speaking about attacks on your family. Some of those flaming arrows have struck mine. I will not go into detail but say that hating the sin while loving the sinner has never been more real than it is now. On top of that there has been a major rift in my church. As I sought the Lord about this I was led repeatedly to references involving pride. Discernment is one of my gifts. I am working on appreciating it rather than wanting to close my eyes to what I see. One thing that breaks my heart are those who wear crosses, display Christian bumper stickers and proclaim Jesus not because they believe but because it the current rebellious thing to do. As you said, pray, pray, PRAY!

    • Jeff D said

      Hi Marion. I am sorry that I cannot go into more detail about this issue but we are praying, waiting and watching to see how the next few days unfold. I am really sorry to know you too are being hit hard but I must say I am never surprised by what our enemy can and will do. That is not to diminish in any way the severity of you trials, please know I did not mean it that way.

      Satan is definitely at work in our churches. Oh so much more than we can begin to fathom. He has people planted there to cause division and uses people that are unintentionally carrying out his work because they think they are doing the right thing.

      Keep honing that gift of discernment. It is one of mine too and the more that Dragon ratchets up the attacks the more WE are going to be attacked because we can sniff out his schemes before or as they are unfolding. As I said in the post his hate for us is so strong that we have no idea the intensity of it. Were it not for God’s personal hand on our lives, we would all be dead by now. I truly believe that.

      And your last statement about those who wear the crosses and bumper stickers because it is rebellious? They don’t even know what pawns they are. They think that being an anarchist is bad to the bone…until they need some sense of order in their lives and come crying to the same authorities they claim they hate for help. God has ways of humbling people like that REAL quick. I think we have all seen that at one time or another.

      We must continue to lift one another up to the Lord and do so with a sense of urgency.

      In Christ,

      Jeff

  2. Jeff D said

    Hello SH,

    As with Marion, so with you…I am sorry that you too are experiencing the pain of the enemy’s sting. You know what though? We all should wear these welts as badges of honor that God has counted us worthy of going through these trials.

    That may not sound like comfort but to me it is. It may be easier for me to think that way because as I have said before my strongest spiritual gift is faith and I have faith that God as you said is “Sovereign” and He is allowing these trials for a reason.

    I know that for me personally, it has most definitely caused me to seek Him harder than I have and I thought I was already seeking Him hard. But the Truth is when can never seek God to hard…we can never be close enough to Him.

    You know you are in my prayers regarding your life situation as is your sister. We are in the fight together…until the very end and I am honored to be fighting alongside to great warriors as you two ladies.

    Thank you for being there and hearing me and praying for me.

    In Christ,

    Jeff

Leave a Reply

