Where Is My Praise?

May 28, 2010

Like I do most every night while in between things to be responsible for at work, I spend time looking up a large amount of headlines from Christian and secular news sources…mainly Christian.  You will find the main group I read from with the links at the bottom.

Something hit me a while ago as I was surfing through the daily headlines of one of the Christian sites; nothing here is positive…nothing.

For years I have been one who loves to keep abreast of current events from a Christian point of view as I believe God has called me to be on the front lines spiritually as I live my physical life on earth.  To do this you must know as much as you can as far as the world around you and what is happening where, when, how and why. I think over the years I have been seriously desensitized to the real hurt and pain that is in this world.

I have to say up front that I am not one who blames all evil and all the worlds’ problems on Satan.  We must remember that we always are at war with our own flesh.  Keep in mind that when we became born again, our spirit was what died and then was re-born brand new.  Our flesh is what we live in. It is our bodies that contain this flesh that houses the Holy Spirit and is His Temple as we spoke of last week.  Therefore, the two are always at war.

Our Lord was very clear in Matthew 26:41, “Watch and pray, that ye enter not into temptation: the spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.” 

Also consider Paul’s words in Romans 7:14-25, We know that the law is spiritual; but I am unspiritual, sold as a slave to sin. I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it.  So I find this law at work: When I want to do good, evil is right there with me. For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within my members. What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? Thanks be to God—through Jesus Christ our Lord!  So then, I myself in my mind am a slave to God’s law, but in the sinful nature a slave to the law of sin.”

One more is Romans 8:5-7, “Those who live according to the sinful nature have their minds set on what that nature desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires. The mind of sinful man is death, but the mind controlled by the Spirit is life and peace; the sinful mind is hostile to God. It does not submit to God’s law, nor can it do so.”

There are several more Scriptures that address this but I hope the point is made.  I guess what I am saying is that by now you know that when you became born again you realized after a while that if you were truly going to take up your cross daily and follow Christ as He says in Luke 9:23 that your life was in for not just a few battles but an all out war.  Yes, this war is also against Satan and his kingdom which is why we all are VERY familiar with Paul’s words in Ephesians 6 about putting on the spiritual armor each day of our lives.

But as I was going through the headlines this in the early hours of this morning, it just struck me how I personally seem drawn to or at the very least read sites that are mainly all about the works of the evil one and the works of the flesh.  All the headlines had both engines roaring and it just seemed I was allowing them to be rammed down my throat. I freely choose what I look at, what headlines I read and what stories to follow up on.

Don’t take what I am saying wrong. I am more than grateful for each of these sites.  Without these fellow Watchmen on the Walls, we wouldn’t know how to fight our spiritual wars as much as we do or even as well as we can for it is their information that equips us with the knowledge of how to pray and how to prepare our families for the attacks we know will surely come.

Again, it just struck me this time how I was only looking at negative news and wanted to find something more hopeful. This is going to sound corny but I needed to make myself feel good.  So what did I do?  Well, I went to YouTube and watched some clips from one of my childhood heroes, Fess Parker who passed away this March.  My heart broke when I saw the headline that morning while on this very computer.  Just as I was raised on Daniel Boone and Disney re-runs of Davy Crockett, so where my own children.  We have them all on DVD.

I guess I just needed to get away from the hurt, pain, smut and overall bad news of the world and go to the innocence of my childhood for a bit. Sometimes you have to leave the dirt and grime behind for awhile and recharge and refresh your soul.  I then proceeded to read some from William Gurnall’s book, “The Christian in Complete Armor”.  Then I had to play some songs (they are playing as I write this) about leaving this world and going home to Heaven.

So, here we are back at the beginning. Just where is my praise?  I know I am not alone when I say I have to find time and a place to praise.  I need a place of quite where my soul can rest in God alone.  We are so bombarded with so much warfare every-single-day-of-our-lives that it just never ends…and won’t until either the Lord calls us home or He personally returns…whichever comes first.

In a few hours I will be headed home to spend the weekend with my family. It seems the weekends have become more stressful as my children get older.  The demands greater.  The responsibilities heavier.

But through it all I know I serve a good and loving God who has a Master plan for my life. I pray that as I prepare for a weekend with all the family together that I will lead my family as the Husband and Father that God has called me to be.   I am so grateful for my beautiful wife and children.  Perhaps this weekend I will truly show it.

And in doing so I will be able to say, “I found my praise”.

In Christ,

3 Responses to “Where Is My Praise?”

  1. sandra said

    Jeff, I was so glad when you started your blog, it truly is a place for praise, a place to “stop and smell the roses”. Ive thought for a long time that some things just seem to heavy and downright oppressive to me, maybe its the times we are living in. I used to be a big fox news watcher, until I decided that the average person can only stand so much doom and gloom. I mostly dont watch it hardly at all. I watch alot of retro t.v. and my husband,who used to hate it, has now started watching it to. finally about a week ago when I mentioned it he said, that those shows were just lighter entertainment. theres drama, but no tradgedy and no smut. todays t.v. has changed alot since those days. sometimes on some of the blogs I like to read, I wish I could shout out ” BUT DOSENT ANYONE HAVE ANY GOOD NEWS DOSENT ANYONE WANT TO HEAR GOOD NEWS?? that kind of thing gets me down sometimes. Ive concluded that some people dont want things to be better ( ever?) I guess you just cant understand some people. I choose hope anyway. thanks for your encouraging words!

  2. Jeff D said

    Hi Sandra. I totally agree with you. If it weren’t for retro T.V. there wouldn’t be much I would watch. I love the old westerns and am still huge fan of Gunsmoke which the Western Channel on Dish Network airs each night. The Rifleman is still one of my all time favorites and was glad my children got to know the values of Lucas McCain and Micah Torrance.

    I could go on and on about those great old westerns we grew up and the ones I still love. There is such a change in cultural values that what kids are learning today is nothing but how to live a life of selfishness, greed and covetousness. Not to mention all the adultery and fornication that saturates EVERYTHING.

    And yes, doesn’t anyone WANT to hear good news anymore? It is so sad to see how we are constantly bombarded with all the sensationalism the MSM throws at us through all the venues of media.

    I thank you and all the other who have been visiting here. I pray together we will continue to gather to make this a true praise place.

    In Christ,

    Jeff

Leave a Reply

