Here’s Waldo

May 14, 2010

I want to begin with an apology for what happened last night as I was trying to answer the question posed by “Seeking Him” under the “Where’s Waldo” post.  I had come under sudden heavy attack by the enemy.  Thankfully, through the prayers of the saints and the reading of His Word, I was able to become victorious through my Lord Jesus Christ. 

I also wanted to say I know it wasn’t fair to ask a question that is virtually impossible to answer as  you almost had to be able to read my mind to know for sure what I was looking for.  In the “Where’s Waldo” post I was asking if you could point out a specific part of the passage that dealt with the topic that Sandra had brought up in the previous post “What If God Is Silent”. 

We were talking about how can a Christian live a lifestyle that is contrary to God’s Word and will and still go to Heaven. I wanted to show through Scripture that in my opinion, one can’t.  Without rehashing all the details I exhort you to read the discussion from that post as my argument is placed there in detail. 

The verse or verses I was looking for are these, “Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit lives in you? If anyone destroys God’s temple, God will destroy him; for God’s temple is sacred, and you are that temple.”  These are verses 16 and 17. Why these verses?  Because I believe they make a very strident point in just how important it is to realize who we are as Christians.  We aren’t just living souls going through life on earth carrying out God’s will. No, we are even more than that.  We are the actual temple that houses the Holy Spirit. 

Stop and let that sink in for a moment if you have never cogitated on that for a while.  This is extremely important to the life of the Believer.  I can personally attest to the fact that I have never truly allowed this passage to penetrate my heart to the extent that it has altered what I do and who I am in the Lord.  My body is His temple! His TEMPLE! His Holy Spirit indwells my body. That makes my body the sacred dwelling place for His Spirit to reside while my body is alive on this earth.  It is the same for you too if you have been born again of the Holy Spirit.  (Please read all of John 3) Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior made it very clear to Nicodemus that in order to SEE the Kingdom of Heaven, we must be born again.  With that supernatural act, our bodies become the dwelling place of the Holy Spirit.  We are sacred temples! I cannot emphasize this enough. 

So what happens when we abuse God’s temple?  When we beginning sinning, we are immediately convicted of that sin because of the presence of His Holy Spirit already indwelling us.  This is why when we sin and do not repent we are in such misery.  If you think being a Christian and sinning because of God’s Grace is acceptable you are in for a very rude awakening. Paul goes into great detail regarding the subject of Grace in Romans. 

So when a person lives a lifestyle of sin, if that person is truly born again, at some point, God is literally going to take you out.  He is going to kill you and bring you home to Heaven in order to keep you from causing more harm to unbelievers.  What do I mean by this? It really is simple. Because our bodies are a sacred temple, God demands us to live a life that is HOLY and pleasing to Him.  Check this out.  In Romans 12:1-2 Paul says, “Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy
and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship. Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” 

As a born again Christian, we are called to a much higher standard now.  Remember, the Holy Spirit is literally living inside you…to direct your life, convict you of sin and transform your life and make it new.  This is an ongoing process. This is why Paul used the word, “Renewing”.  We are to constantly be making our minds be Holy and acceptable to God by giving our thoughts over to Him.  When we don’t, sin creeps in. When sin creeps in, it begins to gain a foothold. If we don’t immediately do what Paul says in 2 Corinthians 2:5 we get into serious trouble.  He says, “We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”  If we do not take every thought captive the second a sinful idea, image or thought enters our mind, we begin losing the battle right there. 

We cannot afford to allow sin to fester in our minds.  If you think that allowing a thought or many thoughts that are sinful to stay in your mind “Safely” locked away because you believe they can do no harm there, you are mistaken.  This is where all sin begins…in the mind. This is why Paul makes it clear to take take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ. When we don’t, we begin to defile the temple of God…our bodies. 

The pagan world loves it when Christians fall.  They look for ways to expose our weaknesses.  If you are living a lifestyle of sin you are committing an atrocity as a Christian as you are willingly making weaker Christians and unbelievers not only stumble, but fall.  Some fall so far they will never get up.  And that comes back to you.  This is why God will KILL YOU. Yes, that is very hard language and that is why it is IMPERATIVE that as Christians we strive to live the victorious Christian life. 

This is why this BLOG was created. To bring hope to the hopeless. To bring faith to the faithless. To bring healing to the hurting and wounded.  And to give praise to God for His goodness. 

But wait you say.  How can God be good if He simply kills us for sinning?  Wrong question.  The question should be, why hasn’t God already taken my life because of my sinful behavior. We have forgotten or maybe never really learned just what it means to serve a HOLY God.  It is a fearful thing to know who God is.  We cannot with our finite human minds even begin to fathom the Holiness of God. We are giving glimpses in Scripture especially in Revelation of God’s Holiness but that still doesn’t quite give us the full picture. 

Remember when Moses wanted to see God’s glory?  What had to happen?  God told Moses in Exodus 33, “You cannot see my face, for no one may see me and live.”  God had to have Moses move to the cleft of the rock so that when God passed by he would not be killed by what is known as the Shekinah Glory of God.  Also, remember when Moses came down from Mt. Sinai? He had to were a veil over his face because it was GLOWING due to being in the presence of a Holy God. 

The Holy Spirit of this Holy God lives within us. When we abuse his temple, our bodies, we defile God Himself.  However, God is so merciful. Otherwise, we would all be dead for we are all worthy of death due to our sin (Romans 6:23).  If an unbelieving world see us in a constant state of sin, yet we say we are children of God, what motive do they have in wanting to partake in the Christian life? None! 

What is it we always hear?  Christians are nothing but hypocrites.  And they are right. We are ALL hypocrites.  Why?  Because no one is perfect.  Like Paul, the things I want to do I don’t do and the things I don’t want to do, I do.  The war with our flesh rages daily. 

But thanks be to God, as God’s temples we have the ability to live in such a way as to bring Him glory by the lifestyle that is pleasing to Him.  We can only do this by daily renewing our minds and seeking to spend time alone with God, growing in Him each day. 

I pray that brings closure and not confusion. 

God bless you all. 

In Christ, 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Here’s Waldo”

  1. sandra said

    great post! I wish churchs would teach on the holy spirit more, Im baptist, and I dont belive they teach on it much, but its so powerful for belivers to understand it. Also at the moment of salvation I understand is when we have the indwelling of the holy spirit, we dont have to try to “catch” it as I used to hear some say, its powerful teaching, and more christians would be encouraged if they only understood it.

  2. Jeff D said

    Thanks Sandra. I am Baptist also…Southern Baptist. The great thing about Southern Baptists is their focus on missions and reaching out. I obviously can’t speak for all of them but the churches I have been a member of have each held mission work in very high regard and each have taught on the Holy Spirit.

    In the Southern Baptists Convention, of which each Southern Baptist Church is a member, every church is autonomous. We are doing what God calls us to do as a church body, understanding that we are each part of the Body of Christ. Therefore, while we do hold to be basic precepts of understanding the most important tenets of Christianity of which I mentioned in an earlier post on Dr. Lynn’s site, we each have the freedom to not be under one large head of the Southern Baptist Convention itself.

    Wow, that just went way off topic but I shared that because choosing to remain a Southern Baptist is where I have received so much of my doctrinal training as a young adult and now a middle aged man. I have been truly blessed to be a member of the churches I have been associated with.

    That being said, not everyone shares the same experience. I have been blessed as I said. I have had sound teaching, great mentors and prayer partners and for the most part exceptional Pastors.

    Sorry to be sounding like a cheerleader for the Southern Baptist Convention of Texas. My intent was only to share how great my experience has been and still is.

    Thanks again Sandra for your kind words and yes, you are 100% correct when you say we don’t have to “Catch” the Holy Spirit. That is a man made doctrine if not flat out demonic or actually both.

    God be with you and maybe we’ll talk again before the weekend is up.

    In Christ,

    Jeff

Leave a Reply

