Where’s Waldo?

May 13, 2010

This post was born due to my reading this morning of one particular verse from 1 Corinthians 3.  I was reading that verse because of an answer I gave to a question to yesterdays post.  Below is chapter 3 in its entirety.

” 1Brothers, I could not address you as spiritual but as worldly—mere infants in Christ. 2I gave you milk, not solid food, for you were not yet ready for it. Indeed, you are still not ready. 3You are still worldly. For since there is jealousy and quarreling among you, are you not worldly? Are you not acting like mere men? 4For when one says, “I follow Paul,” and another, “I follow Apollos,” are you not mere men?

5What, after all, is Apollos? And what is Paul? Only servants, through whom you came to believe—as the Lord has assigned to each his task. 6I planted the seed, Apollos watered it, but God made it grow. 7So neither he who plants nor he who waters is anything, but only God, who makes things grow. 8The man who plants and the man who waters have one purpose, and each will be rewarded according to his own labor. 9For we are God’s fellow workers; you are God’s field, God’s building.

 10By the grace God has given me, I laid a foundation as an expert builder, and someone else is building on it. But each one should be careful how he builds. 11For no one can lay any foundation other than the one already laid, which is Jesus Christ. 12If any man builds on this foundation using gold, silver, costly stones, wood, hay or straw, 13his work will be shown for what it is, because the Day will bring it to light. It will be revealed with fire, and the fire will test the quality of each man’s work. 14If what he has built survives, he will receive his reward. 15If it is burned up, he will suffer loss; he himself will be saved, but only as one escaping through the flames.

 16Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit lives in you? 17If anyone destroys God’s temple, God will destroy him; for God’s temple is sacred, and you are that temple.

 18Do not deceive yourselves. If any one of you thinks he is wise by the standards of this age, he should become a “fool” so that he may become wise. 19For the wisdom of this world is foolishness in God’s sight. As it is written: “He catches the wise in their craftiness”; 20and again, “The Lord knows that the thoughts of the wise are futile.” 21So then, no more boasting about men! All things are yours, 22whether Paul or Apollos or Cephas  or the world or life or death or the present or the future—all are yours, 23and you are of Christ, and Christ is of God.”

For anyone interested and I know this isn’t really fair to ask but I would love for you to try to figure out which verse I am talking about. 

This chapter talks about division in the church in Corinth over several issues.    Paul in this chapter addresses some of those and there is one particular verse that I am referring to and asking you to seek and find, hence the silly title, “Where’s Waldo?”

I do want to make it clear that I didn’t just throw this post up here for the sake of just making a post. No, the one verse I am referring to has great significance to what we were talking about in the last post and deserves a good discussion in my opinion.  Don’t worry, I won’t let this drag on. 

I give praise to God for the visitors that are coming to this BLOG. It is literally growing every day.  Wednesday we had 59 visitors.  This BLOG is averaging 31 hits a day and this is the very first week of its existence. I give thanks to God for His faithfulness.  He raised this BLOG up and I want to give Him the glory through it. 

Please help me in giving all the praise to Him.  As mentioned in the very first post, if you have a praise or want to share a link that is uplifting please feel free to do so. I do not approve anyones post.  You are free to post and not have to wait on approval. 

Thanks again for being a blessing to me.  May God bless each of you.

In Christ,

2 Responses to “Where’s Waldo?”

  1. Jeff D said

    Please pray for me right now. For some reason the enemy is hitting me HARD during the quite hours this morning. I was just about to click “Submit” on a very long response answering the question from this post. As I was wrapping it up, I was explaining how I just took a phone call from a long time listener who just told me that I “have tried to put [her] down over and over and over”. Now I have no idea what she is talking about and asked her repeatedly to please give me an answer but she flat out refused. Literally refused. She kept trying to redirect me and finally just hung up.

    Right now, I am very sleepy as though I have taken a sleeping pill (which I haven’t.

    Something is going on and I don’t like. I know I am scheduled to take my 16 year old son to get his drivers license first thing this morning but I can’t figure out why the attacks all of a sudden so I am please asking that whenever you read this, please say a prayer.

    The only thing that comes to mind is I read Psalm 27 and then later Psalm 1 on the air this morning. They both deal with God overcoming the wicked and destroying them. I guess that got the enemy mad because things are just not right at this time.

    I thank you. I will try to rewrite my answer at a later time. Thanks

    In Christ,

    Jeff

    • Jeff D said

      By the way, I was trying to say that as I was about to hit the “Submit” button, my PC just decided to do its own thing and I lost the entire long post. This was after I got the attack with the phone call. I apologize. The above entry doesn’t sound very coherent.

      Thanks in advance for understanding.

      Jeff

Leave a Reply

