Persevering

May 11, 2010

Persevering: to persist in anything undertaken; maintain a purpose in spite of difficulty, obstacles, or discouragement; continue steadfastly.

As a child of the King, one of the hardest things to do is to persevere. We are bombarded on all sides every day by tactics of the enemy that seek to turn our attention away from the Lord God and on to our own problems.  This in turn hinders our ability to know God’s will for our lives, much less carry out His will.

The Christian life is by far the most difficult yet fulfilling life on earth.  Difficult because of the never-ending struggle we must endure on a daily basis, hence the purpose Paul gave us the reason for putting on our spiritual armor in Ephesians 6.  Fulfilling because in these times of trial we sometimes get so far down that the only place we can look is UP.

When we look up, we find a loving Father that we may have never truly met.  His love is never-failing. Lamentations 3:22-23, Jeremiah encourages us with these tender words, “Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed,  for his compassions never fail.  They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.”

Yes, great is His faithfulness. It is His faithfulness that leads us to a continuance in a state of grace to the end.  Jesus was very clear about the difficult Christian life.  He said, “You will be hated by all because of My name, but it is the one who has endured to the end who will be saved.” Matthew 24:13.

When you feel like giving up, that is the time to remember not to trust your feelings.  Our feelings always lead us astray.  Why?  Because feelings change.  Also, you can’t say, “I feel it in my heart and know it is right” and direct your life based on what you feel is in your heart.  Jeremiah 17:9 says, “The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure. Who can understand it?”  Do you really want to trust your life based on what you feel in your heart?  Do you want to risk being out of God’s will because you trusted your feelings or your heart rather than the firm foundation that is God’s Word?

To put it bluntly, this life blows more often than not. However, we must decide how we are going to handle the times of adversity in our lives.  Christ didn’t say if we had trouble but when.  “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”  John 16:33  Did you notice the last part?  He goes back to overcoming because He has already overcome the world and because of that we too are overcomers…as long as we remain in Him.  That my friends is Good News.

I don’t have to ask…I know you are facing adversity today. Otherwise you wouldn’t be reading this BLOG.  I pray God will give you the same strength I am praying He will give me and my family. 

Since we went to the Family Conference at our church last weekend, the forces of darkness have seemed to gotten a hold of some steroids and are attacking us relentlessly. I am thankful that the Lord has prepared me in advance.  That doesn’t mean I am overcoming…yet.  But it does mean that I am already a overcomer because greater is He who is in me than he that is in the world. (1 John 4:4)   Our family is constantly in spiritual warfare.  I am determined to pray and seek to be the husband and father God has called me to be.  Because of that want, my entire family is feeling the wrath of the enemy.

You and your families will experience the same. That is one reason I believe God moved me to create this BLOG…that we may encourage one another as we are all part of one body…the Body of Christ. We WILL overcome.  We WILL persevere.  As long as our faith and our focus is on Christ alone and not our problems, the enemy will not stop his attacks, but at least we can rest assure knowing that we have a Refuge and Strength to run to in times of trouble.  (Psalm 46:1)

Remember, you basically have two choices: give up…or stick with it, trusting God actually does know what He is doing with and in your life and place all your faith and trust in Him alone. In doing so you will be a overcomer and you will persevere to the end.

May God grant us all the want to be overcomers in these End Times we are living in.  Our families and loved ones need us now than ever before.  May we become more like Christ and less like us. May we all seek to persevere to the very end.

Peace and grace to you all.

One Response to “Persevering”

  1. Jeff D said

    God bless you Dawn. Don’t worry; I was describing myself in this post as well. Having done the radio show overnights for almost 7 years now, I know if I am experiencing overwhelming odds, yet still have the capacity to overcome, I know there are others out there in the same predicament.

    I do want to be used of the Lord through the spiritual gifts He has sovereignly bestowed upon me. One night on Marzulli’s BLOG, I brought up the subject and some of us talked about having a place where we can just give praise to God because it seemed all that we posted about on Dr. Lynn’s site were prayer concerns. While that is true, there is nothing inherently wrong in that either. We need to expose the works of the enemy and bring them to light. This is why I am so thankful to Dr. Lynn and all the hard work and ministry his BLOG provides.

    As I prayed about it, the answer didn’t take long to come back to do this kind of BLOG right here. Not that I “heard” from God, it was more of an almost immediate and very strong impression that God was giving me to use the spiritual gift of exhortation that He blessed me with.

    And so here we are.

    Dawn, please know you are loved. Please know you are among friends here…like-minded friends. Feel free to post any praise or links that have helped you or others that you know about.

    Let us truly make this a “Praise Place”.

    In Christ,

    Jeff

Leave a Reply

